stadium editing?

Modifying Madden 08.
ehlomint
All-Pro
Posts: 193
Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2012 5:14 pm
Location: Akron, Ohio

Re: stadium editing?

Postby ehlomint » Mon May 20, 2013 7:25 am

Yes syldways, that's how I'm doing it. The edit stadium screen shows artificial turf (kinda blue-ish green like 70's fields) but when I go to play a game there or preview the field, it looks like green grass turf. I used DB Editor to check the field type and it was showing 1. I tried changing it to 6 but it had no effect.

Re: stadium editing?

Sponsor

Sponsor
 

duke2020
Veteran
Posts: 34
Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2011 8:10 pm

Re: stadium editing?

Postby duke2020 » Tue May 21, 2013 11:00 pm

How do you install the Lucas Oil stadium .tpf file for use into the FF13 mod??

Thanks

User avatar
pick6
MVP
Posts: 931
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 3:03 pm

Re: stadium editing?

Postby pick6 » Wed Jul 03, 2013 3:27 pm

duke2020 wrote:How do you install the Lucas Oil stadium .tpf file for use into the FF13 mod??

I know this is a very late reply, but in case anyone else wants to know, the 2 are probably not compatible in their current form, as the memory addresses TexMod uses may be different with the FF/FI XIII mod installed. You would have to use TexMod to log all the various stadium parts again (with FF/FI XIII installed), and then substitute the new memory addresses into the .tpf file. If that doesn't mean anything to you, then you probably best start off with the TexMod tutorial HERE, or start reading another thread from HERE.

User avatar
Rixster67r
MVP
Posts: 837
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 8:56 pm
Location: Damascus Maryland

Re: stadium editing?

Postby Rixster67r » Fri Jul 05, 2013 10:03 am

duke2020 wrote:How do you install the Lucas Oil stadium .tpf file for use into the FF13 mod??

Thanks


The FFXIII mod has no effect on the stadiums.......so the Lucas Oil tpf should work
Image

User avatar
RevanFan
Legend
Posts: 8612
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2011 5:25 pm
Location: New York

Re: stadium editing?

Postby RevanFan » Fri Jul 05, 2013 11:13 am

Rixster67r wrote:
duke2020 wrote:How do you install the Lucas Oil stadium .tpf file for use into the FF13 mod??

Thanks


The FFXIII mod has no effect on the stadiums.......so the Lucas Oil tpf should work

Actually, BIT updated stadium names and locations, I believe.
My Historic Cowboys Teams - http://footballidiot.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=12&t=240
My Cowboys Journal - http://footballidiot.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=3610
I'm a die hard Cowboys fan and a New Yorker born and raised.

BelieverInTeal
Hall of Fame
Posts: 1264
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2011 6:58 pm

Re: stadium editing?

Postby BelieverInTeal » Fri Jul 05, 2013 12:23 pm

RevanFan wrote:Actually, BIT updated stadium names and locations, I believe.

That's true, but updating the names and locations has no effect on the 3D model of the stadiums. I updated the names because I was tired of looking at old stadium names.

I hope that clears up any confusion/false hope.
Image

duke2020
Veteran
Posts: 34
Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2011 8:10 pm

Re: stadium editing?

Postby duke2020 » Fri Jul 05, 2013 2:17 pm

Ok, I see what you said, but I have no clue as to what you mean. I am "PC challenged" so I have no clue as to how to simply install the Lucas Oil stadium into the FF13 franchise file. That was my original request. I won't worry about it if its going to be added into the DD14 file.

Thank you for your feedback.

BelieverInTeal
Hall of Fame
Posts: 1264
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2011 6:58 pm

Re: stadium editing?

Postby BelieverInTeal » Fri Jul 05, 2013 3:20 pm

duke2020 wrote:Ok, I see what you said, but I have no clue as to what you mean. I am "PC challenged" so I have no clue as to how to simply install the Lucas Oil stadium into the FF13 franchise file. That was my original request. I won't worry about it if its going to be added into the DD14 file.

Thank you for your feedback.

Ok, I see what you're saying. I need to correct your terminology though. You cannot "install" a .tpf as in "putting in a new piece of software so that everytime you load up a franchise, you will be able to see the Lucas Oil Stadium."

You have to load this .tpf file sort of like inserting a CD each time you play Madden. You will need to use program called Texmod (instructions here). Be aware that you may need to make exceptions in your anti-virus program/turn it off in order to run Texmod. Some programs detect Texmod as a trojan - it's not.

Next you will need to adjust your franchise file so that the Colts will be able to use it as their home stadium. This is separate from Texmod, and will require you to have the DB Editor on your computer (comes with MadMod). The reason for this is because we cannot edit 3D models. If the .tpf you're using for Lucas Oil Stadium is the one I'm thinking of, then you will need to change your stadium to the Cardinals one which I'll explain when you get to this point. The best we can do is to use the Cardinals stadium as a base, and just replace all the Cardinals artwork with Colts artwork. Not ideal, but given the choice, would you rather play in the RCA Dome?
Image

User avatar
pick6
MVP
Posts: 931
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 3:03 pm

Re: stadium editing?

Postby pick6 » Fri Jul 05, 2013 5:42 pm

OK, there's a lot of confusion here and some unrelated issues too, so I'm gonna break it down into "SIMPLE" for duke2020, and "COMPLICATED" for anyone else who is interested.

SIMPLE EXPLANATION:
Duke2020, the Lucas Oil .tpf file works in a totally different way to the way the FF/FI XIII mod works, so it's not designed to be "put into" the FF/FI XIII mod. However, it will work 100% correctly for you when loaded in TexMod (as it's designed to be). Read the start of the TexMod tutorial HERE for how to load a .tpf file in TexMod.
Three things you need to be aware of though:
1) You will need to run TexMod every time you wish to use this stadium in Madden, as the changes are not permanent.
2) After you select the Colts as the home team in Madden, you must then select the Cardinals' stadium (not the Colts' RCA Dome), as this .tpf only simulates Lucas Oil Stadium by decking out the University of Phoenix Stadium with the Colts colors and logo's.
3) If you wish to use it in franchise mode you will not be given an option to select a stadium in Madden, and so you would need to make more changes with another program, but I suggest you leave that for the moment.
That's all you need to know for now!

Other newbies: the Lucas Oil Stadium .tpf (made by Herby) can be found HERE


COMPLICATED EXPLANATION:
Rixster67r wrote:The FFXIII mod has no effect on the stadiums.......so the Lucas Oil tpf should work

Yes and no, twice. It does work, but only by accident.

First of all, many people on this forum use the term "stadium" loosely, meaning either just the field art, or field art plus borders and other stadium artwork. I've noticed more experienced modders use the term solely to refer to the 3D model of the building itself.
The FFXIII mod does change the field art (and loosely speaking does has an effect on the stadiums), and so may not always work correctly with any .tpf field art. This is because changing the field art in a .dat-based mod may change the memory addresses that TexMod uses, and so TexMod will not be able to apply any new field art correctly. (To give an example, my updated Jacksonsville field art .tpf will not be visible when used in conjunction with FF/FI XIII, as that mod uses different memory addresses. I would have to log the addresses that FF/FI XIII uses for it's own Jacksonville midfield and endzones and use those instead to make it compatibile).

Therefore, ordinarily a stadium .tpf may not work correctly with FF/FI XIII. However, the twist with the Lucas Oil situation is that it's designed to be used in a different stadium.
Leaving all mods and .tpf's aside for a moment, any time you play an exhibition game you can choose for the home team to play in a stadium that is not their own. So you could choose 49ers at Chiefs in the Superdome (New Orleans). You would then see the Chiefs midfield and endzones (as the home team), but inside the Saints stadium.
So when you run the Lucas Oil .tpf alongside the FF/FI XIII mod, with the Colts as the home team and the University of Phoenix selected as stadium, the midfield and endzones you are seeing are coming from the FF/FI XIII mod, not the .tpf file.

BUT, that's actually a good thing here, as the FF/FI XIII field art for the Colts is actually more up-to-date than that .tpf file! (You can tell because the .tpf endzone has the old AFC logo & NFL shield, and the FF/FI XIII endzone has the current ones).

So the bottom line is, strictly speaking the Lucas Oil .tpf is not working exactly as it was intended when used alongside FF/FI XIII, but in this case it actually turns out better.

Don't you just love a happy ending! :D

User avatar
elguapo
Hall of Fame
Posts: 1834
Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2012 8:24 am
Location: El Paso, TX
Contact:

Re: stadium editing?

Postby elguapo » Mon Oct 28, 2013 1:30 am

Some fields have a small NFL logo on the 25 yard line. If you're on the midfield looking toward the goal post it will no your left or right. Here's how to add/removed it.

Looking at column ST35, change the value to meet your team's field.

0 = none

25 = left side

26 = right side


Return to “Modding”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests