How to - Editing and Importing Portraits

Modifying Madden 08.
User avatar
elguapo
Hall of Fame
Posts: 1834
Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2012 8:24 am
Location: El Paso, TX
Contact:

Re: How to - Editing and Importing Portraits

Postby elguapo » Mon Jul 31, 2017 12:25 pm

The 32bit version of the dds plugin was the only one that worked for me using Photoshop CS2.

Re: How to - Editing and Importing Portraits

Sponsor

Sponsor
 

bluegriffon
All-Pro
Posts: 133
Joined: Sat Apr 16, 2016 9:14 am

Re: How to - Editing and Importing Portraits

Postby bluegriffon » Mon Jul 31, 2017 4:51 pm

NickyJ wrote:In what way is it not working? Not installing, giving an error when you try to save, etc.?


Its installing but not showing up in the extension list of the "Save as" drop down

bluegriffon
All-Pro
Posts: 133
Joined: Sat Apr 16, 2016 9:14 am

Re: How to - Editing and Importing Portraits

Postby bluegriffon » Mon Jul 31, 2017 5:12 pm

elguapo wrote:The 32bit version of the dds plugin was the only one that worked for me using Photoshop CS2.

That wasn't specified in the list and i dl'd the 64 bit..uninstalled that version and installed the 32bit and was able to save to dds format..my thanx elguapo

User avatar
NickyJ
Hall of Fame
Posts: 2478
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2011 7:09 pm
Location: Virginia
Contact:

Re: How to - Editing and Importing Portraits

Postby NickyJ » Tue Aug 01, 2017 1:17 am

For CS2, that came out in 2005, back before 64 bit computers were widely used. I've been using CS2, so I used the 32 bit version to work with it anyway. For CS5, I don't know why the 64 bit version wouldn't work. Could it be that you have a 32 bit version of CS5 installed?
Image

bluegriffon
All-Pro
Posts: 133
Joined: Sat Apr 16, 2016 9:14 am

Re: How to - Editing and Importing Portraits

Postby bluegriffon » Tue Aug 01, 2017 10:09 am

NickyJ wrote:For CS2, that came out in 2005, back before 64 bit computers were widely used. I've been using CS2, so I used the 32 bit version to work with it anyway. For CS5, I don't know why the 64 bit version wouldn't work. Could it be that you have a 32 bit version of CS5 installed?


The link took me to a dl page and i have CS2 not 5. I am new to the modding scene but since the sources for the team rosters I use have photos (except for the WLAF and USFL teams) i figured I could use them instead of the generic toons for the "created" teams

User avatar
trey31
Hall of Fame
Posts: 1283
Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2014 1:48 pm
Location: Kansas City, Missouri, Cowtown USA
Contact:

Re: How to - Editing and Importing Portraits

Postby trey31 » Fri Oct 06, 2017 11:14 am

TL;DR can I get a zip of someone's DDS plugin? Preferably version v8.51.0816.1945


I'm having serious trouble saving .dds in the 2D ARGB | 256 + alpha mode.

I used the NVIDIA installer for 32-bit dds plugin. This is in CS2 v9.0 on Win 10. Don't have an option for using W7 anymore.

I had no issues saving the shaders in the shader mod in RBG 24 bpp Cube Map (their default format). Only having issues with this format.

The Save As DDS dialog box shows the plug-in version as v8.55.0109.1800 (mine)

Your screenshot in the tutorial shows the plug-in version as v8.51.0816.1945

Attachments: Viewer.png is what the file looks like after saving and opening in a DDS viewer.

PS CS2 DDS box.png shows the setting I am using and the plug-in version number

Dat Editor Extreme.png shows how the same file looks after opening in DEX

I'll post another post with a copy of the dds plugin I'm using and the sample DDS file (3 attachment limit)
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
trey31
Hall of Fame
Posts: 1283
Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2014 1:48 pm
Location: Kansas City, Missouri, Cowtown USA
Contact:

Re: How to - Editing and Importing Portraits

Postby trey31 » Fri Oct 06, 2017 11:18 am

Zip folder has DDS test image and the plug-in that NVIDIA installs (32-bit installer)
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
NickyJ
Hall of Fame
Posts: 2478
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2011 7:09 pm
Location: Virginia
Contact:

Re: How to - Editing and Importing Portraits

Postby NickyJ » Fri Oct 06, 2017 12:56 pm

I've uploaded the version I used here: https://www.sendspace.com/file/ydf4vw

Honestly, though, I'm not sure where you're seeing a problem. Looking at it ingame, it looks fine to me:

Image
Image

User avatar
trey31
Hall of Fame
Posts: 1283
Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2014 1:48 pm
Location: Kansas City, Missouri, Cowtown USA
Contact:

Re: How to - Editing and Importing Portraits

Postby trey31 » Fri Oct 06, 2017 1:11 pm

NickyJ wrote:I've uploaded the version I used here: https://www.sendspace.com/file/ydf4vw

Honestly, though, I'm not sure where you're seeing a problem. Looking at it ingame, it looks fine to me:

Image


I guess the way NVIDIA's texture viewer (WTV; Windows Texture Viewer) was displaying the image made me think it was all screwed up after converting/saving from png to dds. The cubemap dds shaders I modded looked exactly like they were supposed to after saving so I assumed these portraits were saving wrong. I should have stopped yelling at my computer screen and just tested it out in-game :roll:

Thanks for the upload and the help though!

User avatar
NickyJ
Hall of Fame
Posts: 2478
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2011 7:09 pm
Location: Virginia
Contact:

Re: How to - Editing and Importing Portraits

Postby NickyJ » Fri Oct 06, 2017 1:15 pm

Always happy to help. :mrgreen:

Truth be told, I had the same reaction a couple of years ago after a reformat and reinstall, and spent more time than I should have trying to fix how it looked in the dat editor. I thought I was the only who took a while to test it ingame lol
Image


Return to “Modding”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests