pick6's guide to display settings & aspect ratio

pick6
Hall of Fame

Postby pick6 » Mon Mar 03, 2014 7:25 am

I've been playing Madden PC for a few years now, but have only recently discovered how to improve my screen-quality DRAMATICALLY, on both my higher-performance desktop AND my lower-performance laptop!

This guide is in 3 sections, and will show you:
* how to work out what resolution settings you should be selecting in Madden to best suit the shape of your display;
* how to make sure it is not then stretched out in-game after that (i.e. how to preserve the correct aspect ratio);
* how to get the best out of a lower-performance PC that needs many Madden settings lowered.

I'm going to start with the second point first, as it actually makes more sense that way!

SECTION 1: The "panel-fit" setting
You may not realize it, but your PC may be stretching the Madden screen to completely fill your display, either horizontally or vertically! Everything then appears a bit taller or wider than it should; more specifically, the Steelers logo would appear egg-shaped instead of a perfect circle. Also, everything won't look quite as sharp if it's being stretched, so the overall quality of everything in Madden will suffer too!

Here's what you need to do:
1) First, right-click on an empty part of your desktop (i.e. the wallpaper), and then left-click on "Screen Resolution".
[In XP, go to Control Panel, Display, Settings tab, Screen Resolution]
2) Click in the "Resolution" drop-down menu, and select any size that is NOT the maximum setting.
3) When prompted, click "Keep changes".
4) Notice that everything may not look as sharp at this lower resolution.

5) Now, right-click again on an empty part of your desktop (the wallpaper), and then this time mouse down to "Graphics Options".
If you don't see this, one of two things may be happening: