pick6's toolbag & methods (a graphics guide for newbies!)

pick6
Hall of Fame

Postby pick6 » Wed Feb 19, 2014 4:06 pm

This is a short guide designed to help newbies get into graphics modding just a little bit quicker. As I've said before, I'm by no means a graphics artist and had virtually no experience of graphics programs a year ago. But I honestly feel people will find it easier than they think, once they know where to start!

I'm going to divide this into different sections, and may add more tips 'n' tricks in the future ;)

SECTION 1: pick6's toolbag

SECTION 2: TexMod-specific info

SECTION 3: Paint.NET tips and tricks

N.B. There is also an additional section called FIELDART-SPECIFIC TIPS & TRICKS in my NCAA 17 FieldBuilder thread,

as well as ANOTHER section HERE showing in great detail how I go about "tidying" lines to get them looking real sharp in-game. (pick6 trade secrets! :D )

====================================================================================

SECTION 1: pick6's toolbag

I'm going to start by listing all the programs I used to make my TrueTurf, Logo Mod, mouse icons, and field art. The programs are all free, and easy-to-use! However, you WILL need to spend some time playing around with these programs yourself to get used to them, as the best way of learning is by doing it yourself!! :-D

BASIC TOOLS:
1) I use Paint.NET, which you can download here: http://www.dotpdn.com/downloads/pdn.html
It's simple but powerful, and I find it way easier than Photoshop! (I think it was elguapo who first put me on to this, so many thanks to him! :D )

2) Next, there are 2 plugin packs for Paint.NET that I consider essential, as they give you a variety of additional features. Both are free to download and use fully; donation is optional.

Vandermotten Paint.NET Effects: contains 9 plugins, including “Object Align” and “Drop Shadow”.
http://users.telenet.be/krisvandermotte ... fects.html
(When installing, you can uncheck “Duotones” and “Monotones”.)