MikeWest502 and accusations of stealing modding work

Anything and everything.
StingRay68
Hall of Fame

Postby StingRay68 » Fri Mar 03, 2023 3:00 pm

MikeWest502 sent PM to moderator(s) claiming his playbook mods were being copied/modified and released as original work by another forum member.
I agreed to look into the matter, since I was impartial to the claim, not having any interaction with Mike, nor the person he accused.
I explained to Mike it would likely take some time to look into since I have very little knowledge of playbook construction. I warned Mike not to make any accusations public nor have further contact with the person he was accusing.

The person he accused was contacted, asked how they came about creating the work that was posted on these forums. I also asked them to refrain from posting any further work until I had time to compare their work with what Mike claimed was being "stolen"
The explanation was perfectly satisfactory and was easily verified.
I compared Arizona's offensive playbook from Mike's work with what he claimed was copied and found absolutely nothing in common.
Mike was contacted and made aware of the findings. Mike was asked to provide an example from his Arizona playbook that he felt was copied and he declined. At that point, since I was unable to find anything that appeared copied and Mike declined to provide an example, the matter was considered closed.

Mike then decided to take matters into his own hands and publicly attack the person he accused of copying his work.
The post was reported, the post was removed and Mike was given a temporary ban.
Since then, information has come to light that Mike privately contacted several forum members to accuse the formerly mentioned member as well as others he accuses of stealing/copying/modifying his work to use with other mods posted on the forums.
As a result, Mike has been permanently banned.