Can I redo a roster without the game at all?

User avatar
truetothegame13
MVP
Posts: 561
Joined: Thu May 10, 2012 3:22 pm

Can I redo a roster without the game at all?

Postby truetothegame13 » Mon Jun 26, 2017 4:24 pm

i plan to get copy of madden 08 sooner or later. i want to start working on a 1998 roster in the mean time. can i just download a default 08 roster i see here, and start editing away with the roster editor? or would i have to load it up with madden 08, save it, and then quit the game, or something?

if i wanted to do away with player portraits completely, in bulk fashion, is there a 1 trick pony where i could just temporarily remove the player portrait file or something? so itll just show blank portraits?

Can I redo a roster without the game at all?

Sponsor

Sponsor
 

User avatar
achernar
Hall of Fame
Posts: 1013
Joined: Thu Apr 18, 2013 10:18 am
Location: Brazil

Re: Can I redo a roster without the game at all?

Postby achernar » Mon Jun 26, 2017 6:12 pm

Use NZA Editor with the .ros

User avatar
RevanFan
Legend
Posts: 8749
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2011 5:25 pm
Location: New York

Re: Can I redo a roster without the game at all?

Postby RevanFan » Mon Jun 26, 2017 6:28 pm

truetothegame13 wrote:i plan to get copy of madden 08 sooner or later. i want to start working on a 1998 roster in the mean time. can i just download a default 08 roster i see here, and start editing away with the roster editor? or would i have to load it up with madden 08, save it, and then quit the game, or something?

if i wanted to do away with player portraits completely, in bulk fashion, is there a 1 trick pony where i could just temporarily remove the player portrait file or something? so itll just show blank portraits?

I don't recommend creating a roster exclusively with an editor, but that's because I always create players from scratch in-game. But as achernar said, you can do it with NZA's editor, 1.3 being the best version to use.

As for player portraits, there may be a setting that gets rid of portraits by setting each player to 0, which would give them cartoon-ish portraits, but removing the player portrait file is not recommended. You could, I guess, replace one portrait with a "blank portrait" and give each player that portrait ID, but I'd not recommend that. I honestly believe, if you're not using historic portraits, the best thing to do is stick with the default cartoon portraits, because blank or generic ones just look... wrong.
My Historic Cowboys Teams - http://footballidiot.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=12&t=240
My Cowboys Journal - http://footballidiot.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=3610
I'm a die hard Cowboys fan and a New Yorker born and raised.

User avatar
achernar
Hall of Fame
Posts: 1013
Joined: Thu Apr 18, 2013 10:18 am
Location: Brazil

Re: Can I redo a roster without the game at all?

Postby achernar » Mon Jun 26, 2017 6:32 pm

I think if you pick the default roster, and will editing, you will be fine

like RevanFan says, create from the zero could cause some bugs..

User avatar
Rixster67r
MVP
Posts: 837
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 8:56 pm
Location: Damascus Maryland

Re: Can I redo a roster without the game at all?

Postby Rixster67r » Mon Jun 26, 2017 7:43 pm

This will help.......
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Image

User avatar
truetothegame13
MVP
Posts: 561
Joined: Thu May 10, 2012 3:22 pm

Re: Can I redo a roster without the game at all?

Postby truetothegame13 » Mon Jun 26, 2017 8:53 pm

thx i appreciate it guys


Return to “FAQs”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Adsense [Bot] and 3 guests